The History of Our Established Law Firm

Learn About Our Firm's Past

Before you engage the services of an attorney, it's a good idea to learn more about the firm, its people, and its heritage. Read on to learn more about the history of Taylor Law Offices PC.

Contact us in Effingham, Springfield, or Flora when you need legal counsel.

The Evolution of Our Law Firm

G.F. Taylor began practicing law in Effingham, Illinois, in 1883. He began his legal career by reading the law under Mr. Benson Wood, one of the first graduates of the University of Chicago Law School. Mr. Wood was a former mayor of Effingham, a U.S. congressman, and a veteran of the American Civil War. His law school diploma – dated June 30, 1864 – hangs in the Benson Wood Conference Room in our Effingham office.

G.F. Taylor’s son, Harold J. Taylor, graduated from the University of Illinois College of Law in 1925. He joined his father in the practice of law in Effingham, Illinois, under the firm name of Taylor & Taylor. G.F. Taylor died in 1945. Under the leadership of Harold J. Taylor, the law firm of Taylor & Taylor grew to a four-lawyer firm, which included A. Leonard Anderson, George Dehn, and Carl Becker, who later became circuit judge in the Twentieth Judicial Circuit, Chester, Illinois.

In 1961, Harold J. Taylor's son, Thomas F. Taylor, a graduate of the University of Illinois College of Law, joined the firm. In 1974, Michael R. Weber joined the firm of Taylor & Taylor. Harold J. Taylor died in 1975. In 1983, Mr. Weber was appointed Judge of the Fourth Judicial Circuit.

Dale F. Wolff, Bruce A. Burkey, and James J. Eder – practicing under the firm name of Dale F. Wolff & Associates, P.C. – merged with Taylor & Taylor in 1983 following the untimely death of Thomas F. Taylor at the age of 48. The new firm was incorporated as Taylor and Wolff P.C., and later changed its name to Taylor, Wolff, Burkey & Eder P.C. The firm added Lou J. Viverito in 1985 and Henry J. Stephens in 1987. Thereafter, the firm has been known as Taylor Law Offices PC.

Matthew R. Hortenstine and Christopher A. Koester became affiliated with the firm in 1995 and 2001, respectively. In 2001, James J. Eder was appointed as Associate Judge for the Fourth Judicial Circuit. Henry J. Stephens retired in 2003. Tracy A. Willenborg joined the firm in 2003. Aaron C. Jones and Aaron K. Leonard were hired as associates in 2009 and 2010, respectively. The most recent associate attorneys to join the litigation department at Taylor Law are Kristen Flood in 2016 and Kara Wade in 2017. Taylor Law Offices currently has locations in Effingham, Flora, and Springfield, Illinois.
 We conduct business with clients all throughout Illinois and parts of the Midwest. We focus on business and estate planning, litigation, and governmental law.

Call us today for a consultation. 

Our attorneys have more than 90 years of combined experience
Share by: